PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice about router tables

rudy de haas
02-15-2015, 2:32 PM
Hi:

I've been agonizing about getting a better router for several months now - this summer I have panels to cut and wainscotting to make etc.

Right now I have a chance at a Craftex sliding router table similar (I think) to the Grizzly G0528 with a Triton 3.25 hp plunge router. It's brand new but cheap because the legs got bent when someone ran a forklift into the table (no router mounted at the time).

Does anyone have experience with this, or a similar, sliding table - and, if so, can you tell me what your experience has been? In particular are sliding tables worthwhile for routing?

thanks!

John Sanford
02-17-2015, 11:31 PM
Some folks over on the Green Kool-Aid forum have discussed this matter.

Mike Schuch
02-18-2015, 12:14 AM
I have a sliding table shaper and love it.! It is great for rail and style work. I would think a sliding table on a router table would be equally useful to one on a shaper but have never used one on a router table.

Doug Garson
02-18-2015, 1:07 AM
No comment on the table but there's a thread over at Canadian woodworking forum on the Triton router, sounds like one to avoid.

Jim Dwight
02-18-2015, 9:14 AM
I have never used a manufactured router table and I never plan to. I've made several and have two at the moment. One is in the extension table of my table saw. I made it first and still use it if I need two setup at the same time. It is just a thinned area of the melamine particle board of the extension table for a PC 690 fixed base, about a 3 inch hole in the extension table, and a fence that attaches with threaded knobs through the slot in the fence into t-nuts in the under side of the extension table. Simple, works fine. I made some doors using it before making my current table.