PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Table Saw opinions

Aaron Funk
02-11-2015, 3:09 PM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie looking for my first table saw for the garage. Hopefully seeking advice from the forum is not seen to be in poor taste. I'm looking at an ad for a saw that seems promising, but I am not able to identify the specific model visually from the ad and the owner can't provide a model number until later this evening. I was hoping the more experienced here might be able to tell me if it's a good saw for the price and maybe some pros and cons. I'm wondering specifically if it can be wired for 110V. Right now it's 220V. It seems to have a decent fence.

https://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/tls/4886497774.html

Thanks in advance.

Aaron

William C Rogers
02-11-2015, 3:20 PM
It appears to be an older Unisaw. Says 220, so most likely it is a 3hp. It has the JoinTec miter sled which is excellent and was around $250-300 when they were in business. Not sure about the fence. Others will be able to identify the saw better than me. Doesn't look bad for $500.

scott spencer
02-11-2015, 3:45 PM
It's right tilt with solid cast wings and a Unifence... could be a model 36-755, but can't be sure. Looks to be a good deal, but it doesn't state the model or horsepower of the motor. If it's 2hp or more, it's best run on 220v, and generally won't run on a standard residential 120v circuit. Make sure it's single phase, and not 3 phase, or you'll need a converter or VFD. If it is a 36-755, it'd likely be 2hp, which depending on your circuit and the amp draw of the motor, could be borderline for most 120v circuits, and might not even be convertible to 120v. A "Unisaw" usually states that on the front....if it's Unisaw with a single phase motor, it's a great deal.

That Jointech sled and Woodhaven miter gauge are worth a fair bit too. It'll probably move quickly at that price.

Matt Day
02-11-2015, 3:52 PM