PDA

View Full Version : Reinforcing Mitered Box Corners

Andy Compton
02-10-2015, 7:31 PM
Hi All,

I'm a beginner to woodworking and am making my first box to hold our ever growing Cards Against Humanity set. It's a maple box with a sliding walnut lid and a baltic birch bottom in a dado. In my complete "newb-ness" I decided to miter the corner of the box. Is there an easy way to reinforce the corners? My understanding is that the end-grain to end-grain glue-up likely will not last.

Thanks in advance!

Pat Barry
02-10-2015, 7:41 PM
Rubber binders

Bade Millsap
02-10-2015, 8:05 PM
I typically use hardwood spline like pictured in this link ...https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/e40-7K0SqvL8CKHa2iCBIdMTjNZETYmyPJy0liipFm0?feat=direc tlink

Jamie Buxton
02-10-2015, 8:13 PM
Bade's splines are a good solution. You cut the slot for the spline on a table saw. You make a cradle that stands the box on its corner. It runs along the rip fence.

Jim Andrew
02-10-2015, 8:47 PM
I use biscuits. If you have a biscuit joiner, it is easy to put them in miter joints. About the best use of a biscuit joiner.

Bade Millsap
02-10-2015, 8:47 PM
I should have been more explicit ... check out this google image link and you'll see lottsa examples https://www.google.com/search?q=miter+spline+jig&espv=2&biw=1770&bih=955&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=O7TaVI22GcmMyAS4uoCgDw&ved=0CCsQsAQ#imgdii=_

Art Mann
02-10-2015, 10:21 PM
Here is a photo of a keepsake box I built for my daughter-in-law. The sides of the box are 3/8" thick. The keys (also called splines) are the thickness of my table saw blade. I have built several of these and the corners are extremely strong. The box is black walnut and the keys and inlay are soft maple.

Click to zoom

Jeffrey Martel
02-11-2015, 11:33 AM
Glued up mitered corners are still stronger than the surrounding wood. Putting splines in helps, but isn't really necessary. It's more for decoration than anything else.

roger wiegand
02-11-2015, 12:28 PM