PDA

View Full Version : Itching to create

Calvin Arterberry
02-08-2015, 8:32 AM
Hello folks. I'm new to SMC. I am also new to woodworking. I have been reading some of the blogs on sawmill, and the threads are very interesting. Enjoying them.
I have done metal fabrication and welding all my life. I got married 13 years ago, and after about 3yrs of griping and complaining about welding, my wife talked me into learning how to deal Blackjack when it was voted into Oklahoma. I had never even seen the game played, let alone deal it. Low and behold...I am now a Blackjack pit boss. I have been doing this for almost 10yrs now. BUT...I still have that itch to draw and read prints and build stuff. Ever since mid-September I have been buying woodworking equipment to do woodworking as a hobby. I have got everything that I think that I need to start. I'm going to start scrolling this coming up week. First time ever to use a scroll saw, planer, router...etc. I do feel like I have a good enough background in fabrication to do pretty good at this. Practice! Right?
Any thoughts? Opinions? Tips? Or maybe you might just wanna tell me I'm crazy for buying all brand new equipment for something that I know very little about.

Mike Cutler
02-08-2015, 8:46 AM
Calvin
First off, welcome.

You're not crazy to want to give woodworking a go.
In today's world many people work at job where they see no end product, or tangible result. Wood working is a natural to fill this void. A person starts with a pile of boards and at the end there is that tangible result. It's satisfying, well sometimes, to finish a project and see the results of your effort before you.

Start your projects small, usually jigs and fixtures for the shop. Focus on methods, and accuracy, and you'll be fine.
Get something into the house as soon as you can. It helps down the line if your spouse can see a tangible result also. ;)

Once again, welcome and have a blast with your scroll saw. Don't be afraid to make a mistake.