PDA

View Full Version : Can a well pressure tank be too big?

Brian Elfert
02-05-2015, 5:10 PM
My well pressure tank is only 20 gallons. Two plumbers both told me to get a bigger tank so the pump cycles less often. I have no idea what GPM the pump is as the house was bank owned.

I found a heck of a deal on an 86 gallon pressure tank brand new. It is cheaper than a new 20 gallon tank. Would an 86 gallon tank end up being too big? I have a 30/50 pressure switch now and I notice the pressure getting low right before the pump kicks in. I plan to go to a 40/60 pressure switch with a new tank. With a really big tank would the period of time when the pressure is low be a lot longer since the tank is so big? Tank manufacturers claim there is no downside to a larger tank, but of course they want to sell a bigger tank to make more money.

Brad Adams
02-05-2015, 6:11 PM
I am a licensed well contractor. A bigger tank will be better for your pump as it will have less start and stop cycles. The only down side of a really big tank could be that you could pump the well faster than it could recover, but it is really unlikely.

Jerry Bruette
02-05-2015, 6:27 PM
Really no need for a new switch, you can adjust the one you have for 40/60 if that's what you'd like. Just remember to adjust the air pressure above your bladder to 38 psi when the tank is empty.

Dan Hintz
02-05-2015, 7:29 PM
I want to say the tank on our well is about 2 gallons in size. If we lose power, I can get a single flush in before the pressure is down to practically zero. Other than that, I don't notice it.

Malcolm Schweizer
02-05-2015, 7:50 PM
Do you mind sharing where you got that deal, and do they ship? Go for it. I am saving up to replace the pressure tank for my cistern. I would love to get an 80 gallon. I am going fiberglass, as the last one rusted, and it will be $550 for a 50 gallon.

Jerome Stanek
02-06-2015, 8:22 AM
I have a 175 gallon tank in my house works very well. 40 to 60 psi on it

Pat Barry