PDA

View Full Version : I'm about to start a Strat build - My First Ever....

Dennis Peacock
02-02-2015, 3:53 PM
I've NEVER built an instrument before. Been playing guitar and bass guitar for over 40 years now. I've always wanted a really nice guitar and bass to play but I never have been able to afford them. A buddy at work has gotten a "bee in his bonnet" about building a '62 Fender Strat and he's talked me into building one with him. Neither of us have ever built an instrument but we've both played for many years.

What's the hardest part of an electric guitar build?
I have the wood shop and he's getting the luthier tools. Combined, we hope to end up with 2 really nice playing guitars.
Oh...and if this guitar build goes well, I'm going to build my own version of the MTD-535 electric bass guitar. :D

Advice, pointers, and watch-out-for's welcomed. :)

Anthony Scira
02-02-2015, 5:58 PM
Im going to give you a tip. BUY this course.
OBRIEN
(http://www.obrienguitars.com/courses/electric/)It may seem expensive. But in the long run it will save you a lot of time and money. Not to mention you will have a fine instrument at the end of it.

I bought the acoustic guitar course and I would pay double the price if I could go back in time and buy it before I started building.

Julie Moriarty
02-02-2015, 6:44 PM
I found the hardest part was actually starting the project. I thought it would be too hard. I barely play anymore and didn't even own a guitar when I got the bug. Since then I've made two Strats, a Tele and am almost finished with a Mac-type bass. It's not hard. I did however invest a lot in proper tools. Stew Mac must love me. :rolleyes: With the proper tools, so much of the building process is easy. What you might be missing is plans. I have acquired quite the collection and would be willing to share any with you. Just PM me with what you want and if I have the plans I'll email them to you. I go to Staples to have them printed out.