PDA

View Full Version : 6" Dado Set

Michael Zerance
01-21-2015, 10:13 AM
Is there any advantage that a 6" dado set has over the 8" sets?

I recently acquired a table saw which included a 6" dado set as part of the package deal but I already own two 8" dado sets. Is there any reason to hang on to this or should I just sell it?

Peter Quinn
01-21-2015, 10:16 AM
If the saw is under powered its less steel for the motor to have to turn. Other wise no advantage, and if the saw is 3hp or above, the weight thing is not relevant either.

Ellen Benkin
01-21-2015, 11:36 AM
As a hobbyist, I have never found any reason to have a dado set larger than 6". But if you already have two 8" sets and you are happy with them, I'd put it on Craigslist and get some of my investment back.

Rod Sheridan
01-21-2015, 12:37 PM
Is there any advantage that a 6" dado set has over the 8" sets?

I recently acquired a table saw which included a 6" dado set as part of the package deal but I already own two 8" dado sets. Is there any reason to hang on to this or should I just sell it?

Yes there is an advantage for me.

The maximum size dado my saw will accomodate is 180mm so an 8" set is too large..........Rod.

Andrew Pitonyak
01-21-2015, 1:34 PM
Your depth of cut is limited by the size of the blade. An 8" Dado set, therefore, should be able to make a deeper cut than a 6" set. On the other hand, a larger set weighs more and puts more stress on the motor and related parts.

I own a SawStop, and the brake is set for a specific blade size.

Check the specs on your saw, it may specify a maximum Dado size in either blade diameter and/or stack width.

scott spencer
01-22-2015, 9:31 AM