PDA

View Full Version : Jointer HELP!

matthew Young
01-20-2015, 2:34 PM
Good Afternoon All,
This is my first time posting on this forum but I have been getting information here for a while now. I now have a problem that I can't find an answer to, so I am extending it to the experts.
I bought a used jointer from a gentlemen and its a 6" Canwood Jointer. I can not find a manual or even really any existance of Canwood anywhere on the internet. I have been using other brands manuals in the hope of reverse engineering the problem with mine but the problem persists.
I couldn't for the life of me get a board to straighten out when I was trying to face joint, so I started working down the list of every adjustment, technique and different wood I could to try and find/solve the problem. While measuring the infeed table with a dial indicator off the outfeed table, I found that the front left corner (looking as you would feed the wood) was down .017". After checking the other three corners on the infeed from a straight edge off the outfeed, the other three corners were all even and coplaner with the outfeed side. So I assume that somehow that front left corner has dropped.
My issue is I can't figure out how to adjust it up. I dont see any set screws and the only adjustments on the infeed side is the high/low stops for the infeed table height adjustments. I even tried wedging that corner to see if I could level it with the other three corners but it just raises the whole table.
I took a break to rest my patience, but when I head back out I will take pictures of whatever I can think of will help.
I am with the Canadian Armed Forces and am being released medically. I just recently started my own custom woodworking shop and had been using a sled for the planer. It would be way less of a pain though if I can get this jointer set right and be able to use it.
Any help or advice fixing this problem is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance and glad to be part of the team!