PDA

View Full Version : Resaw King won't fit Powermatic 1500 Bandsaw HELP!

Clif Moore
01-18-2015, 11:18 AM
For Christmas, I received a new Laguna Resaw King blade ( 1" width; 153" length ) for my new Powermatic 1500 bandsaw. While I have Timberwolf blades of lesser width that easily mount on the saw, I cannot mount the Resaw King. I can just barely, with much effort, get the blade on with the bandsaw fully de-tensioned. No way am I going to get this thing on with the appropriate tension setting. I measured the blade and it appears to be 153" although it fits just inside the 1/2" Timberwolf blade that was removed from the saw yesterday.

Any ideas?? Anybody run into this issue? I have never used a 1" width blade before. Something I don't know about 1" blades?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.

David Kumm
01-18-2015, 11:42 AM
Sounds a little short. Blades are seldom the exact length as they are welded between the teeth and err on the side of short. If you can get it on fully detensioned, even if difficult, it should be good. Dave

Wade Lippman
01-18-2015, 11:57 AM
One of us is confused. You put it on, tension it, and you are good to go. You are not supposed to put it on tensioned.

Clif Moore
01-18-2015, 12:15 PM
One of us is confused. You put it on, tension it, and you are good to go. You are not supposed to put it on tensioned.

Sorry if I was not clear. With the Bandsaw in Full Release (completely de-tensioned), I can barely and with much effort get the blade on the wheels. However, it is so tight that I can't tension the blade from that point. I don't want to break the blade.

David Kumm
01-18-2015, 12:33 PM
Is there adjustment to the throw of the lever? You won't break the blade but that type of blade is high tension so a lever throw isn't as handy to use as a wheel. Lever should have a range of adjustment. Dave

Clif Moore
01-18-2015, 12:48 PM