PDA

View Full Version : long leaf pine - good deal or not?

Charlie Fox
01-16-2015, 1:21 PM
i have little experience with pine, and am not sure of what to look for in this wood. i am assuming i would want the tightest rings possible - correct?
looking at these photos i am just not sure if this is a good deal or not - i see some tight and some not so tight rings.
he wants $7 per lineal foot, 2"x9". claim is it is from a 1905 house - so wouldnt that be all old growth? thats why i am wondering why some rings are pretty wide....thoughts??

http://images.craigslist.org/00q0q_lj7oxNlzYNJ_600x450.jpg

John A langley
01-16-2015, 1:46 PM
That's about five dollars a board foot that sounds a little high you also need to Buy a metal detectorall you got to do is hit one nail

Charlie Fox
01-16-2015, 1:55 PM
right, its $4.66 bf, it is guaranteed rot and metal free. so it sounds like its not a deal, yet not a rip off either? its for a client piece, so the cost is passed on......if they agree of course

Mike Henderson
01-16-2015, 2:05 PM
That's not a bad price based on what I see reclaimed wood going for around here. I don't understand it, but some people really like that old distressed wood.

Mike

Peter Aeschliman
01-16-2015, 4:54 PM
That's not a bad price based on what I see reclaimed wood going for around here. I don't understand it, but some people really like that old distressed wood.

Mike

That, and they like the story. "this isn't a table you can just get at pottery barn! The wood used in the table was reclaimed from a 1905 home built by hand in an Amish community in Pennsylvania" etc.

There's also the premium because it is reclaimed, and thus green.

Even if you milled that wood to make it look "new", people would pay more for the story behind it.

Mel Fulks
01-16-2015, 5:45 PM
Some of the ends look like good heart wood. Don't think its the really old growth. There is a place in town that is a big