PDA

View Full Version : Sealing exterior travertine pavers?

Frank Martin
01-13-2015, 12:30 AM
We have just installed travertine pavers on our drieway and backyard. I am not sure if a sealer is needed or not. The contractor did not necessarily think it is needed, although he quoted a pretty high price if I want him to do it. Ideally, I would prefer a bit darker/wet look and most importantly stain resistance. If these are my goals, what specific products do you recommend? I prefer to apply it myself.

I live in southern CA, with plenty of sunshine and mild temperature year round, a mile from the ocean if this matters.

Chris Padilla
01-13-2015, 10:57 AM
Try the John Bridge tile forum if you don't get many answers here.

Sean Troy
01-13-2015, 11:31 AM
I was a contractor in Az. for 20+ years and only delt with natural stone. Any product used outdoors will be adversely affected by the sun and heat. The life span of the product will be greatly shortened as opposed to indoor use. You will have to reapply the product at least yearly. I'm not not sure what products are on the market now, especially in Ca. where you would be greatly limited because of laws but none of it that might work will be cheap. The only product that actually worked outdoors for me was 200.00 a gallon wholesale and covered 400 sq. ft. Oil based also. Not available anymore. Lot's of products will say they work but be very wary unless you can speak to a customer that's having good luck with a product used outdoors.

Frank Martin
01-14-2015, 9:39 AM
Chris, thanks for the forum suggestion.

Sean, your point is exactly the reason I wanted to get opinions here.