PDA

View Full Version : Walnut Mantel w/ Live edge need to add more depth question....NEWBIE

Dan Bracy
01-12-2015, 5:03 PM
Hello everyone. First time post. I have been lurking around here for awhile and found out that I don't know jack compared to 90% of you!!! So I guess I am wondering if someone could make a few suggestions for my project.

First, a little background.... I am just a hobbyist and not exactly new to woodworking or projects, however I am a perfectionist and what would take a professional 4-5 hours takes me 4-5 days or even weeks for that matter!!!! They both look nice, but it just takes me considerably longer. I built my own 30x44 three stall garage that my "shop" is in the 3rd bay of. So I basically have a 20x30 area of my shop. Nailed every nail and screwed every screw of the garage, I poured all the concrete but did pay someone to power trowel it for me to a smooth finish so sawdust would be easily swept up.

I have a 2hp General hybrid table saw, a 14" Steel City band saw, and a Bosch glider 12" scms, and a GI Dust collection. I have lots of different blades and such for the table saw and scms, however I only have the original 1/4" blade on the band saw.

Okay, so here is the project:
I have a piece of walnut with a live edge with a beautiful knot and worm holes on the live edge. It is about 8 ft long, 1 1/2" thick, and the left edge is about 19" deep, towards the center it is only about 14" deep and then the right edge it is about 18" deep. The fireplace has a chase above it and the fireplace is 23" deep. So I am planning on adding walnut to that back of the mantel board to achieve the amount of overhang that I want for the mantel and to make that live edge mantel board appear to be one solid board.