PDA

View Full Version : Hardness testing of saw plates

Rob Streeper
01-11-2015, 5:52 PM
I just posted a comment on an old link regarding some hardness testing I have done and one of the members suggested I create a new thread with the information.

I've been building saws for about two years now and have become interested in the technical aspects of saw design. In my reading I have found that Disston at some point or other decided that the optimal hardness for saw plates was Rockwell C 52. The saw building community uses blued spring steel in sheet or rolled sheet form, often 1095 in building custom saws for the boutique market. My nature is to question things, especially benchmarks that were established a century ago like Disstons Rc52, and thus I set out to learn about the hardness of saw plates.
I recently acquired an Ames 2-S hardness tester. This instrument measures superficial hardness on the Rockwell N and T scales. This device works by measuring the depth made on the test article when a measured load is applied to a point called an indenter. On the N scale it uses a specially shaped diamond point and on the T scale it uses a 1/16" carbide ball. For hard materials you use the diamond and for softer you use the ball. The N and T scales specify three different loadings, 15, 30 and 45kg for different thicknesses of test materials. This links to a table giving the appropriate loading and indenter for various test article thicknesses. http://www.continentalht.com/userfiles/file/CHT-hardness-conversion-chart.pdf See the Hardness vs Minimum Thickness Chart at the top left of the first page.

Here's the instrument.

And here's the data.

The conclusions I draw are: