PDA

View Full Version : getting organized

bridger berdel
01-08-2015, 3:01 AM
Anarchist’s Tool chests. Tool rolls. Boxes. Fitted cases. Open shelves. Fitted cabinets. Milk crates. The original cardboard box it came in. Pegboard. Chests of drawers. Just left where you used it last. Piled up in the corner…. There must be at least as many ways to deal with organizing tools as there are people using tools. For me there have to be different strategies for different situations. I use almost all of the above. Some are used inside of others, and some of those are inside yet others…

I really like tools. I like them for what they do for me, as representations of an idea or an intention, as historical objects, even as things of beauty in their own right. I like finding and rehabbing antiques and returning them to work, I like designing and making them, I like analyzing and troubleshooting them. I like organizing them.

They get grouped by various kinds of logic. By trade, say electrical work. By function, say knives. By association, where glue and clamps need to be near each other. Sometimes by size- I have a cabinet with lots of flat drawers for small tools that don’t leave the shop. A long toolbox for wrenches and prybars and such too big to fit in the other places those things live
When a box gets too full to be useful it’s time to split the category. Maybe I need to separate the house electrical tools from the electronics tools, or the flat joinery chisels from the carving gouges, or the twist drills from the spade bits. Dump the box, sort them out, find new boxes for the resulting piles. Eventually I’ll need to split the framing butt chisels from the socket firmers. Then I’ll be doing it all over again.