PDA

View Full Version : Questions on lacquer finish.

Greg McClurg
01-06-2015, 10:55 PM
Hi all,

I don't very often, but read the formum daily. I have a couple of questions on how you handle using lacquer in a cold climate. My shop gets somewhat cold in the winter and usually I only get it warmed up to around 60 degrees. I know you should keep the lacquer warm, but will it cure well at 60 degrees? Does it make a difference whether using rattle can or brush on? Also, how do you deal with the fumes? That is the biggest reason I avoid using lacquer in the winter since I don't really want to open the windows to air the shop out.

Thanks for any advice you can share.

Greg

John Sincerbeaux
01-06-2015, 11:30 PM
Hello Greg,
I would use 70 degrees as your min temp.
Heres what I do. I am sure some won't like this but again, this is what I have been doing for many years.
I have a laundry room in my house with a small window about two feet off the ground. A 20x20 box fan fits perfect in the window. I made a lazy susan finishing table about 16" dia. I then use 1/4" hardboard sides and a top to surround the window and lazy susan. I put a cheap 20x20" filter on the front and back of fan which sits on the window sill.
I run the fan on high and it completely exhausts all overspray and fumes. Set up is completely a knockdown system and works like a charm. You end up with warm, dry, and dust free spray booth. I use a professional spray gun hooked up to a 1 gal pressure pot.
Hope that helps. Lacquer is probably the easiest finish to apply but it likes to be warm and dry.

Thom Sturgill
01-07-2015, 7:30 AM