PDA

View Full Version : I Would Like to Get a Lathe

Matt McCoy
01-03-2015, 7:14 PM
Hello there:

I have no experience with a lathe, but I'm pretty sure I would like to give it a try. To start, I'm interested in making identical wood-handled shaving brushes in small batches. I stumbled across videos of mechanical duplicator attachments that follow the profile of a jig, a semi-automatic machine that looked pretty interesting, and small tabletop CNC lathes like the Sherline CNC Mini Lathe 4400. I'm open to used equipment and don't have a budget in mind yet, but would appreciate any info to point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

charlie knighton
01-03-2015, 7:37 PM
welcome to the creek, you will enjoy woodturning.....to make shaving brushes you could rig up a drill with hand made tailstock, but a small midi lathe would be better......since making 100's of the same item exactly the same sort of destroys the market price, we sort of discouge cnc made items

all commodities market value seems to be breaking down......6 months from now things could really be something.....and the people who buy the new lathes for less money might be willing to sell their old lathes at a similar discount

check out grizzly lathes just come out with big lathe for less than my mid size lathe....you should be able to get nice lathe soon ,,,,be picky......but cnc........nah

Bruce Pratt
01-03-2015, 7:52 PM
Most wood lathe duplicators will not give you the detail you need for shaving handle brushes. Also, as noted above, you may get greater value from "one of a kind" rather than batched identical items. If you are going to stick with small items, you can start with a small pen turning lathe from Penn State Industries. If you need bigger than that, consider Rikon or Jet midi's

George Troy Hurlburt
01-03-2015, 8:17 PM