PDA

View Full Version : VLS 6.60 Connection lost while engraving

Tom Moore I
12-31-2014, 8:35 AM
My Universal Laser VLS 6.60 is about 5 years old and just recently when engraving at different times the machine stops and on the computer screen a window appears saying Connection Lost. Sometimes it will do this repeatedly other times it works fine. The unit has not been used that much and I am still a novice at this. I have tried changing the printer cable, seperating power supplies to the laser, computer, blower and air compressor and still it happens. It seems to happen most when I turn on either the blower or compressor while the laser is running. Is there a possibility that the printer cable is picking up interference from either the blower or compressor? The cables are in close proximity to each other. Any ideas? Thanks Tom Moore

Mike Null
12-31-2014, 8:55 AM
Tom

Welcome to SMC. I used to have similar problems when I was running a ULS several years back. Mine was generally cable issues which I usually corrected by reconnecting the cables. I think in your case I would uninstall the laser drivers and reinstall them reconnecting the cables at the same time.

Before you do that call ULS and get their driver updates.

I always kept my laser on its own circuit but I doubt if the other machines are your issue.

Ross Moshinsky
12-31-2014, 9:12 AM
Universal and Trotec lasers need a constant stream from the USB port. I tried a new, low power computer with ours and no matter what settings I had, the usb wouldn't keep the power. So my guess is your USB port is turning off. I put a much older PC on the it and it ran fine with no connection issues.

Scott Shepherd
12-31-2014, 9:16 AM