PDA

View Full Version : First Time Finishing Cherry...

Sam Chambers
07-21-2005, 10:24 AM
For once, I'm going to think about finishing before I even start! This weekend (hopefully) I'm going to start building a jewlery case as a 16th birthday present for my daughter, based on the plans (pardon me, "meashad drawring") from The New Yankee Workshop. I'll use cherry, not so much because that's what Norm used, but because it's what I have in the shop.

I've never used cherry before, except for some Freedom Pens, and I need some suggestions for a successful finish. I know cherry can be tricky to finish, and the last thing I want is a blotchy job.

A couple of specific questions...

1. I don't have any spray equipment, and don't really plan to buy any. So, the finish will need to be either a brush-on or wipe-on variety.

2. If I decide to stain the cherry a darker color, how can I best achieve an even color?

3. If I decide on an oil finish, how can I avoid the blotches?

4. What about using a sealer or conditioner?

5. Any other words of wisdom to impart?

Thanks in advance, folks.

Doug Shepard
07-21-2005, 10:59 AM
2. If I decide to stain the cherry a darker color, how can I best achieve an even color?

Dont stain it. Put the wood outside in some of that hot GA sun for a while. You'll be surprised how much it will darken and you wont get any blotchiness from uneven stain absorption. Keep a raw scrap piece inside so you can compare and see how much it's darkening.

Don Kisela
07-21-2005, 4:12 PM
I just finished that exact same project, made out of cherry. I did not stain, but used a wipe on varnish (Arm-r-seal). Turned out very nicely...Don

Michael Pfau
07-21-2005, 5:16 PM
Gel stains work good on cherry. You can get an even coat.

Jim Becker
07-21-2005, 6:20 PM