PDA

View Full Version : Which Woodmaster Moulder head to buy

Travis Fatzinger
12-29-2014, 9:19 PM
I have an older Woodmaster 712 I have been using as a planer for awhile and I would like to set it up as a moulder.

I will only be doing small runs for my projects and my house so I would only like to buy one knife to keep the price down. However, having smooth knives worries me and I want to go with corrugated ones.

When I go to buy a knife I get four options:

700C - Single slot, is this corrugated? If so this seems like the way to go.

C2 Head- I have no idea what this is.

Directly in planer head- Obviously smooth. Do I need three knives or does it come with counterweights?

700S2 Corrugated, two knife slots. If I only buy one knife will they supply a counterweight for the other side?

Any thoughts are appreciated as it will be pretty pricey by the time I get the accessory shaft and everything.

Thanks,

Travis

David Kumm
12-29-2014, 10:00 PM
My older 712 has a separate head with two 60 degree corrugated knife slots and gibs of various lengths. Replaces the planer head completely. I don't know if that choice is available but if you want the best shot at quality moldings it is the way to go. Knives are easy to set and generally two are the way to go for all but very short runs. If doing trim for a house you want both knives. The full head dampens some of the vibration that leads to chatter marks and lots of sanding. Dave

Bob Falk
12-30-2014, 8:47 PM
I used a single knife configuration in my 718 for the window molding in my house (oak) and it turning out with a stain grade finish. When you order a single knife it comes with a counter weight to balance....I have never had a problem with chatter, but then again I run a pretty slow feed rate

ed vitanovec
12-30-2014, 9:26 PM