PDA

View Full Version : Best HF tool

David Ragan
12-25-2014, 5:39 AM
A fellow who was a broker for power equipment told me yrs ago that the best brand @ HF is Chicago.

Had a pneumatic paint shaker that was great. Needed frequent lubing, but was great.

Lots of the plastic/rubber stuff has broken early on.

Probably the most I have from there is the assortment set of nuts/bolts.

Anyone found any brand or tool from HF is reliably a durable economical tool?

Jerome Stanek
12-25-2014, 6:55 AM
I like their dead blow hammers and 2hp dust collector. I did get a set of combination wrenches to take to trade shows as my good ones get lifted that are my go to set when I work in the field. Love their free flash lights and scissors

Mike Null
12-25-2014, 7:20 AM
+1 on the db hammers. Also find their air tool equipment (spray guns, pressure pots, blasting cabinets,) to be more than adequate for my hobbyist use. I bought a heat gun which lasted about 30 seconds.

Matt Day
12-25-2014, 8:05 AM
I guess it's time for another HF thread! There are a couple websites dedicated to HF gems by the way.

Personally, I've been very happy with my HF power tool purchases. No comparison for the money IMHO. The the two that stick out in my mind the most are my angle grinder (probably the loudest tool in my shop but it works) and my narrow crown stapler. i think i spent $10 or $15 on each.

Mike Cutler
12-25-2014, 8:32 AM
A few years back I bought one of their hydraulic lift table/carts. I thought it would a one time use thing, to install our wall mounted oven, at that time.
I gotta tell you though, I use that little hydraulic table a lot more than I thought I would. I just used it to get a Delta Shaper, and a snowblower, out of the truck bed, and I constantly use it to bring things I'm working on in the garage to a more convenient height.