PDA

View Full Version : Kreg infomercial

Bill Orbine
12-03-2014, 7:30 AM
I saw on TV this morning a 1/2 hour Kreg Infomercial this morning. What they've done is put together a starter kit consisting of rip cut saw guide, shelf hole jig, and simple pocket screw jig together with a number of plans " A SEVENTY DOLLAR VALUE FOR FREE" and tool guide....a "TWO HUNDRED DOLLAR VALUE for THRE EASY PAYMENTS OF THIRTY THREE THIRTY THREE".

I've always hated the infomercials, but I can say this is the first time I've enjoyed one..:rolleyes:

Matt Day
12-03-2014, 7:42 AM
I've seen parts of that too. I think everything's better when it's woodworking related!

Chris Monroe
12-03-2014, 12:23 PM
The Kreg jig is one of the things that helped get me into woodworking.

Peter Quinn
12-03-2014, 12:28 PM
I'm a professional in commercial shop with a very varied repertoire. One week I'm making heirloom furniture, next week I'm banging out things that look like motel furnishings. I have my preferences, the most important one end of day is feeding my family. I probably do more wood working in a week than some guys do in 6 months, plenty of 80 hour 7 day weeks this year, and pocket screws are definetly part of the program as much as my dovetail saw, hand planes and scrapers. I don't have the luxury of being arrogant....though sometimes instill am! So open your heart to the pocket screw, it's just waiting to be your friend!

Bill White
12-03-2014, 12:47 PM
Kreg certainly did not gain prominence by building and selling useless junk for a hobby shop.
Pocket holes have a place and a use. I'm glad that I have one of the original aluminum jigs.
Bill

Jim Rimmer
12-03-2014, 1:26 PM
I have a Kreg jig. They have their use and place. Certainly not for fine furniture but a very useful joint.

My, how far afield we have gone from the OP.

Rick Potter
12-03-2014, 1:38 PM