PDA

View Full Version : Drum Sander: please give me your advise

Susumu Mori
11-30-2014, 3:02 PM
Hi all,

I'm seriously looking into a drum sander.
My short list is Supermax 19-38, Jet 22-44, and Woodmaster 2675.
There is a wide range of price ($1,300-3,000 with the Woodmaster most expensive), but if the Woodmaster gives me something that is worth the price, I'm fine. I'm old enough to ask something good and last for the rest of my life.

On paper, the cantilevers look better due to the extra capacity. However, Woodmaster is in a different league in terms of the power and weight. They all share similar foot print, though.

I am a hobbyist. I'll use it every week, but not every day. I expect to use it for general sanding purposes, but I don't think I'll sand big doors or face frames over 24 inches. I do cabinet doors and big drawers occasionally, but they don't go beyond 24 inches. The only wide things are, of course, table tops. So, my questions are;

1) I'm not in a production shop. Mostly right duty. Is a Woodmaster too much?
2) I believe the closed design of Woodmaster, as well as the larger motor, should make meaningful differences. Can it remove more materials in one pass? Does it give smoother surfaces without burn marks? Or is it just a matter of durability?
3) What is your opinion about sanding a table top with cantilevers? I think we need to remove a good amount of materials for a table top. I can flatten the top with a hand plane and ROS. Is it really practical to replace a hand plane with a cantilever sander? Does it really shorten the time?
4) With a Woodmaster, I guess I have to prepare a table top as multiple pieces of less than 24-inch width and join them?
5) My understanding is cantilevers are not really for any thicknessing. How about Woodmaster? Can I use it for a minor adjustment of the thickness or to establish a flat surface?

I'd appreciate your experiences and advises.

Robert LaPlaca
11-30-2014, 4:02 PM