PDA

View Full Version : Supermax 25x2 ES Dual Drum Sander or Grizzly G9983 15" Wide-Belt Sander?

Matthew Ferreras
11-28-2014, 5:29 PM
Hi Guys,

I had a thread that helping me decide on which drum sander to go with but I figured since I'm so close in price to Grizzly's smallest Wide belt I should consider it, let me know what you guys think about the choice.

I am a hobbiest woodworker who builds furniture and random other things for myself and family/friends.

Here are the two that I am comparing but I am open to other recommendations. In this price range. I would love to buy used so if you know of anyone trying the get rid of a drum or wide belt sander in the northeast let me know.

Supermax 25x2 ES-
Closed end sander capable of 25"
Dual Drum
3 hp motor
6" max thickness
Cost- $3,439
Video- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IruHHTfWAh8

Grizzly G9983 15" Wide-Belt Sander
15" single pass, 30" double pass
Single Drum
5hp motor
5.5" max thickness
Cost: $3,695

Thanks,
Matt

Jim Andrew
11-28-2014, 7:44 PM
I have the Grizzly G9983 and enjoy using it. Have never used a drum sander, so can not comment on the difference. I had experience in a shop with a widebelt, so had some experience with them, so that was my choice. Think the only way to create problems for yourself is to try to take too large a cut at one time. I put my panel between the feed belt and sanding belt and make sure I can slide it before turning on the sander. Then I make small adjustments on the wheel as I move the gap tighter.

David Kumm
11-28-2014, 8:54 PM