PDA

View Full Version : Need help w/ two tool purchasing decisions: sander, jointer | band saw?

Joe Craven
11-25-2014, 1:04 PM
Everyone,

I finally have a garage large enough to equip some "real" woodworking equipment. Keep in mind when reviewing this outreach that I'm an occasional hobbyist who mostly spends time building furniture to go in my house, so that the wife can't change her preferences on a whim (i.e. nothing that I build will ever be donated to the local thrift store!).

I purchased a planer (Steel City 40200H) at a great price the other day at the local Woodcraft. Rockler has a 20% off (plus free shipping!) deal for Black Friday, so I'm looking to take advantage and complete the shop - for now! - with the following additional equipment:

Dust Collector (Jet DC-1100VX)
Jointer or band saw (can't decide which is more important)
Some sort of sanding device
Air filtration system

My questions are:

I hate sanding, and in particular the time that it takes to thoroughly sand a complete project's worth of stock. I figure that a drum sander - the Jet 10-20 is my current thinking - will help the most to alieviate this pain, but I'm wondering if I'd get more mileage out of some combo machine like the Jet JSG-96 that has a disc and a belt? I just don't know if a 6" belt will cover enough of my needs to keep me from upgrading.
I know that I eventually need both a jointer and a band saw but I'm thinking that the jointer is the more-imporant tool to get first. I know a bandsaw is great for cutting curves and all sorts of other stuff but I think I'd get the most value from it in resawing. These are each pretty expensive so I can only buy one for now. My choices are between the (jointer) Jet JJ-6HHDX and the (band saw) Laguna 14-12.
For air filtration (and given that my garage is one room at ~7,500 cubic feet) would the Jet 1000CFM unit be enough (again, for occasional use) or do I need to up it to the 1700CFM unit? They're significantly different in price.