PDA

View Full Version : academic version of corel draw

Noah Grant
11-18-2014, 8:12 PM
I am purchasing corel draw and just got off the phone with them. They tell me the academic version is no different from the full version except it cannot be used for commercial purposes, and its not upgradeable. Does anyone have any experience using the academic version for their laser needs? I am an illustrator user myself and will only be designing in illustrator on my mac and importing the file into corel draw on the pc driving the laser. Any suggestions?

Gary Hair
11-18-2014, 8:56 PM
My first suggestion is to type "academic corel" into the search box in the upper right corner. That question has been asked many times and the answer is (almost) always the same.

Noah Grant
11-18-2014, 9:09 PM
Thanks Gary that was my first attempt however didnt have much come back. This time all is well. Thanks for the info!!

Dan Hintz
11-18-2014, 9:12 PM
Unless they have changed their stance, the academic version also does not include the VB scripting engine, which is required for macros. Maybe not a big deal to some, but a dealbreaker for others. Plus, you can't use the academic version for business purposes, no matter where along the line it's used or what tiny fraction of functionality is being used.

Rich Harman
11-18-2014, 9:29 PM
I upgraded to Corel 6 (full version) from the academic version of Corel 5. I specifically asked Corel if my academic version qualified, they said yes and gave instructions on how to make the upgrade. The upgrade purchase was made over the phone with Corel.

Neil Pabia
11-19-2014, 1:42 PM
I've been using an academic version for years, never had any issues with it. Just follow the rules about not using it for commercial use and you should be fine. I have X5 now and will be upgrading to X7 in the near future. My X5 can run macros.

David Somers
11-19-2014, 1:48 PM