PDA

View Full Version : Straightedge bowed

tony mashadi
11-07-2014, 1:05 PM
Hello-
I am a relatively newbie non-professional woodworker. Although I have heard from many that buying a used percision tool is not the best idea, i went a head and purchased a used suburban tools 36" steel straightedge which is sold new for $136 i believe, from ebay. I paid around 80 for it and the guy said its unused in new condition. Now that I have recieved it its badly bowed. Now the edge still seems straight based on my test by trying to push paper under it as its sitting on its edge on my tablesaw top (havnt recieved my filler gauge yet). So my question is, does this effect the accuracy or any problems with things i would be using it for (adjusting my tools). I want to know if I sould return it or at least leave a negative feedback on ebay or this is not a big deal. Dont want to unfairly effect the guys reputation if this is not a big deal but the dude did say its in perfect, new, unused condition. The bow is significant enough that it seesaws a good 1/8" up and down when layed on its face (wide side).
Thank you in advance for you responds
Tony

Bill White
11-07-2014, 1:20 PM
Although the straight edge may not be affected, I would not be too happy with spending that for an edge device that was badly warped either edge or flat.
Bill

Bill Huber
11-07-2014, 2:05 PM
I agree with Bill, it may be just fine and do the job you need it to do but I think I would give the seller a note and see what they have to say.

Ken Fitzgerald
11-07-2014, 2:05 PM
Tony,

When you buy something used on ebay, the old adage "Buyer beware" definitely applies and yet, a person should be able to reasonably trust what is advertised there. If you are concerned the bowing will affect your use of the tool, I'd try to contact the seller and give them a chance to make amends.