PDA

View Full Version : table saw choice

Jon Nuckles
11-06-2014, 3:56 PM
I have been sharing a shop with another woodworker for the last 5+ years. He has now moved to the suburbs and is going to do his woodworking in his garage. I need to replace the tools he will be taking with him, including his table saw. I want a good cabinet saw with a riving knife, but I don't feel the need for flesh-sensing technology. I do want good dust collection, and will likely get a blade cover with a dust port. I am leaning toward the Grizzly G0691 or G1023RLX, both of which are 3HP saws and are currently $1675 shipped with 52" rails.

Does anyone have any reason to choose one over the other?
Any experience on dust collection with either one?
Any recommendations on a blade cover with dust collection?
How is the Grizzly fence, and are any aftermarket fences an option?
Any other saw I should be looking at given the above criteria? (I have the space for a slider, but don't know about the budget. My shop has only one 220V circuit on a 30 amp breaker to run any tool and my dust collector, and I would not be able to get my landlord to improve that situation. Used tool bargains are rare in Chicago; when they are offered they go quickly, and I need to get back up and running soon.)

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer!

Jesse Busenitz
11-06-2014, 5:07 PM
I don't have any suggestions but I was just looking at both those saws myself, and was wondering the same thing.

Phil Barrett
11-06-2014, 5:29 PM