PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw Fence and Fixtures

Scott Berg
07-13-2005, 6:17 PM
Hi everyone. I am somewhat new to woodworking and have kind of a dumb question. I have a Biesemeyer fence on my table saw and would like to make another fence that goes over it so I can put T-Track on it for featherboards, etc.

How does one go about attaching this to the Bies fence without drilling new holes in it, or is this not possible. Any help is appreciated.

Michael Perata
07-13-2005, 6:31 PM
Unfortunately I am without a link for you, but this is a very common and easy solution.

Typically, a saddle is made to fit over the Bies. Some use the saddle as a slider, some have screwed/bolted it to the Bies fence and I have seen a saddle that included a screw clamp arrangement to attach the saddle to the fence.

Jim Becker
07-13-2005, 8:30 PM
There is an excellent system in Jim Tolpin's Tablesaw Magic that is designed specifically for a Biesemeyer style saw. I've been using it on my Jet saw for years.

scott spencer
07-13-2005, 8:46 PM
Try mounting 3 or 4 rare earth magnets in your aux fence. Between their power and a reasonable friction fit, it should be plenty secure.

Vaughn McMillan
07-13-2005, 10:06 PM
There is an excellent system in Jim Tolpin's Tablesaw Magic that is designed specifically for a Biesemeyer style saw. I've been using it on my Jet saw for years.
I second the Tablesaw Magic recommendation. Although I haven't built the auxiliary fence Jim's using, the book describes that system, as well as a whole lot of other useful jigs you can add to it. I plan to modify my existing aux fence to take advantage of some of them. Especially for someone who's relatively new to this game (like me), the book has a lot of good ideas and suggestions.

- Vaughn

Rick Schubert
07-13-2005, 10:29 PM
I can't see how he attaches the rip fence fixture to the fence in Jim Tolpin's Tablesaw Magic on page 59.