PDA

View Full Version : Oh, the heartbreak

Steve Voigt
10-23-2014, 3:55 PM
A few weeks ago, I bought the very nice looking, massive tataki nomi below off ebay. The price was very reasonable. I'm a japanese chisel newbie, so I sought advice from several experts who all gave it a thumbs up.

Well, the package arrived today. The top was cut wide open, and here's all that was in it:

It's impossible to know for sure what happened, but I have a pretty good guess: the f#@&rs at customs opened it and didn't bother to reseal it.
Obviously, there's no way to replace something like this. The best I can hope for is a refund. :(

Sorry for the self-pitying whine, I just had to get that off my chest.
So, does anyone need an extra hoop for a japanese chisel? :p

george wilson
10-23-2014, 4:21 PM
That is a shame for sure.

David Weaver
10-23-2014, 4:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24Vlt-lpVOY

that's a bummer!

Try again. Same thing, I'd say, look for a tataki from someone who isn't a current it maker and try again. There's not a whole lot of difference in edge holding between a $35 unknown maker quality chisel and one that's $115 (generally there isn't any).

Christopher Charles
10-23-2014, 8:16 PM
Perhaps that's the one ring to rule them all?

Bummer indeed!

Tom Vanzant
10-23-2014, 8:29 PM
If you haven't already done so, contact the delivery people. They delivered a package that had been tampered with and the contents lost or stolen. Worth a call...
Give eBay a heads up too and let them know.

Brian Holcombe
10-24-2014, 9:26 AM
Definitely not cool! There is a chisel, less the ring, in someone's sort facility with all of the workers wondering where it came from.

Tony Shea
10-24-2014, 7:31 PM
That is def a bummer. You really need to follow up on that with the delivery people. And don't be soft with them as in don't take "I'm sorry sir but there isn't anything we can do about this."

Steve Voigt
10-24-2014, 11:15 PM