PDA

View Full Version : ????? Re Hand cut dovetail saw

Howard Rosenberg
02-17-2003, 9:59 PM
I'm VERY new to handtools but the elegant simplicity of a hand-cut DT has grabbed me ever since I saw Rob Cosman on the ww show circuit make beautiful DTs over and over again while bantering with the crowd and assembling joints without any trial fit.
Here's my dilemna - while it's an amazing tool, the L-N saw is a bite $-wise. My next choice might be the Lee Valley dovetail kit with their saw and a magnetized jig assembly to keep you on the "straight & narrow". I hate sounding like a snob, but I'd permanently feel I'm relying on training wheels.
After such a long preface, my question is: if I don't want to spend the $ on the L-N saw, does anyone ever use a Japanese puul-type saw with a stiff back? Any limitations? Problems? Anything I should know about? I'd be following Rob Cosman's techniques which obviously work but with a different saw.
All opinions, knowledge and experiences would be very welcome ... I hear a Shaker-style step stool calling my name in time for when the garage warms up enough for glue to work. Thank you. Howard

Pam Niedermayer
02-18-2003, 1:06 AM
I've been using the LV Professional Dozuki for a couple of years, and it's been great for dovetails. So good in fact, that I haven't even gone looking for a better Japanese saw. I'd previously used a Tyzak I bought 20+ years ago.

Pam
http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.asp?page=32937&category=1,42884,42898&ccurrency=2&SID=

Jim Fuller
02-18-2003, 9:42 AM