PDA

View Full Version : parts for ancient powermatic jointer?

sean schriver
10-07-2014, 12:14 AM
Hey all,
Quick question, I have a powermatic 8" M60, an OLDIE I have been using for a couple years. I think 1960-70. Anyway I am in the process of tearing it down and cleaning it. Noticed I will need a new outside bearing cap and bolt, The threads on both are just about stripped and barely stay tightened. Also will need new infeed and outfeed gib shims bars. Any ideas on where I can order these parts from? I found the part numbers from what I think is the correct year manual on vintage machinery. I have a feeling contacting powermatic is going to be wasted effort. I was trying to make my tables co-planer with shims but as soon as I unlocked/locked the infeed table to set to cutting depth, there went all my work. it just never would come back to my settings. I am hoping the new parts and a good polishing of the keyways and white lithium grease would help but I'll save all that for another post soon. Mainly need to get the new parts first...any suggestions?:confused:

Ken Fitzgerald
10-07-2014, 12:28 AM
Sean,

Here's a link to ereplacementparts.com who has a M60C and other models through M60HH parts http://www.ereplacementparts.com/search_result.php?q=Powermatic%20M60&manufacturer=Powermatic&models_heading=Jointer+Parts .

But if it were me, I would go to a local bearing shop and hardware store. Bearings and bolts are typically available locally. If you go this route, take the old bearing and bolt with you.

Good luck with your search!

sean schriver
10-07-2014, 12:55 AM
Thanks Ken,