PDA

View Full Version : Will epoxy stick to shellac'd surface?

Ken Platt
10-06-2014, 10:51 AM
Folks -

I've got myself into a bit of a corner here. I have a drawer front that originally was not going to have a pull at all, but now needs to have one. The pull is a bit too small to screw on, but the drawer front is already finished with shellac (although not yet mounted). I'm hoping not to have to strip it. The drawer will see light use; it's at the bottom of an entertainment center type of thing. Probably get opened every couple of days.

Will epoxy save the day here, or do I just bite the bullet and strip off the shellac? Anyone else tried this, or am I the only such idiot?

Thanks -

Ken

I don't mind being an idiot, I just strive to have it not be a daily event.

Erik Loza
10-06-2014, 11:22 AM
I'm no expert on finishing but have used epoxy on all sorts of things and my thought is that even if it would adhere (and not sure it would...), the bond to a substrate like that would be iffy at best. The shellac might act like a resist.

Could you just sand out the specific area where this pull needs to go, to get down to real wood, glue your thing on there, then touch-up finish afterward? Just my thoughts. Best of luck with it.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Prashun Patel
10-06-2014, 11:29 AM
I wouldn't epoxy, nor would I try to abrade or clean the surface; unless you don't mind redoing the whole drawer front.

I would instead use a tiny dowel if a screw is not possible.

Rich Engelhardt
10-06-2014, 1:15 PM
Shellac a piece of scrap then glue a similar piece of metal to it and see how well it holds.

I'm thinking either epoxy or super glue or Roo-glue should work fine.

Malcolm Schweizer
10-06-2014, 2:03 PM
In short, no- it will not stick.