PDA

View Full Version : Brief Review: Veritas Wooden Plane Hardware Kit

Frederick Skelly
10-05-2014, 8:34 PM

I bought one of these (LV Item No. 05P40.41) a few months back and just got around to using it. The kit has everything you need to build a Krenov-style (laminated) wooden smoothing plane. It includes an A2 blade, a Norris-style adjuster, a brass cross pin and a few other goodies. You supply the wood. (I chose Maple.)

I've restored 3 metal planes now, but I have no experience using or building a Woodie. Plus, I have enough trouble adjusting my metal planes laterally (multiple tries to get it right), so I wasn't "up" to learn the new challenge of a wedge and hammer yet. Thus, the Norris Adjuster was very attractive to me - one less thing to learn right now.

Anyway, I found the instructions very clear and complete. Good drawings, clear step-by-step text, all dimensions clearly identified. It took me about half of an afternoon to resaw the maple, make the parts and glue her up. (I wasn't trying to hurry.) After it dried, I found a lovely picture of a genuine Krenov-made plane on Derek Cohen's website ("In the Workshop"). I bandsawed the basic shape and used my Iwasaki Carving Files to refine it into the shape you see. I think the part I enjoyed most was shaping the front and back to make it fit perfectly into my hand. You don't get quite as many options to do that with a metal plane. Although, after I'd finished shaping it, a neighbor lady came by and said "Oh, what a neat tape dispenser." (I swore under my breath, even as I realized that she was right about the resemblance.:mad:)