PDA

View Full Version : "Pass through" on a Fusion 40

Jay Selway
10-03-2014, 3:57 PM
So, I'm in the market for a laser. I've narrowed it down to the Speedy Trotec 400 with pass through and the Fusion 40 (120w :cool:).

Have any of you attempted to do pass through on an Epilog fusion? Some of the work I'm planning on doing is going to be large format, which is why I had originally become interested in the Speedy400.

Additionally, how many of you use adobe illustrator rather than corel draw? I work as a designer, so I know illustrator like the back of my hand. Corel, I know, but it's been years since I've used it.

Kristina Jones
10-06-2014, 2:05 PM
Hi Jay,

To answer your question about Illustrator on a Trotec, yes you can! Here is a link to a guide that you can use to set up the workspace - http://www.troteclaser.com/en-US/About-Trotec/News/Pages/2012_03-How-to-Print-from-Adobe-Illustrator.aspx Hope this helps!

Kristina

Gary Hair
10-06-2014, 2:19 PM
Jay - I don't have either of the two lasers you are looking at buy my Explorer ZX has pass through and I can tell you that in the 8 years I have owned it the additional cost, about $1,000 at the time, was paid for in the first few months of owning it and it has paid for itself many times over. If you are lasering a single pass on a large piece then it is very simple, if you are lasering a large area and indexing it through the laser then it gets a little more tricky. I wouldn't even consider a laser without it, too much money to be lost without it - especially if you find out how many others have the same capability in your area - in my case it was none!