PDA

View Full Version : Silver Engraving-Advice Requested

Ray Cervantes
09-25-2014, 11:14 AM
Good morning all,
I'm a small business owner looking to potentially "farm-in" engraving. I work with sterling silver plated (over brass) stampings. The engraveable area is around 1 inch by 1/2 an inch. The engraving would generally be 3 letters done in script style.

I've never done engraving before, but it would make a large difference to the business if I started, so I'm open to investing/learning.

My question-what type of machine would you recommend to start out on, and later, to "upgrade" to if it's worthwhile.

Currently, I'm a complete novice with no idea where to start, so any advice would be appreciated.

Tony Lenkic
09-25-2014, 11:50 AM
Ray,

My guess is that you would do diamond drag type of engraving. For only 3 characters per tag most cot effective approach would be an used New Hermes pantograph with set of script font.
Check ebay for availability.

Ross Moshinsky
09-25-2014, 1:15 PM
You want a mechanical engraving machine. On brass, we use diamond burnished bits with a rotating spindle. Diamond drag is a method of engraving where the bit does not rotate.

Ray Cervantes
09-25-2014, 3:37 PM
Thanks for the answers! Are there specific differences between the Engravograph & Pantograph? Ebay has a few of the one, but not of the other that will ship.

Tony Lenkic
09-25-2014, 3:51 PM
Ray, where are you located? Someone could track down unit in your general area to help in search.

Ray Cervantes
09-25-2014, 3:56 PM
Located an hour north of Seattle, but am glad to drive anywhere within 2-3 hours in any direction.

David Somers
09-25-2014, 6:22 PM
Ray,

Hey from another Northwesterner! I live in West Seattle and work downtown. Holler if I can do anything for you here.

Dave

Mark Sipes
09-25-2014, 6:46 PM
Ray, this machine is in OR. and sounds about your size/requirements.