PDA

View Full Version : Waterlox org. sealer over formby's tung oil?

Jonathan Gennaro
09-22-2014, 1:22 PM
First off, yes i know formby's tung oil isn't really tung oil but more of a varnish blend. I've used it on alot of projects and it was my go to for the table. Originally I had planned to use this with a johnsons paste wax but discovered Waterlox last night.

Anyways, it's a walnut dining table, and I wiped on two "thin" coats of the formby's tung oil. I've always liked the look of it. Was it a mistake for a dining table? I'm new to sealers, and with everything else I've made I've never had to really worry about the finish. It's always been danish oils, teak oils etc. But this actually needs to work ;)

So its a walnut table. Will it go over the the formby's ok? Will the Org. sealer they sell keep the same characteristics of the formby's?

I can always do a test piece and find out, but just wanted a little advice.

thanks

Jerry Thompson
09-22-2014, 3:25 PM
I would stick with Waterlox. Go to their Web site and read all about it.

Scott Holmes
09-22-2014, 4:54 PM
Formby's is NOT a vanish blend... It is varnish. So is Waterlox. Different types; both varnish. Waterlox is a phenolic resin / Tung oil varnish and bit harder and much more amber; it will continue to darken with age. Formby's is an alkyd resin / soya oil varnish and is light straw colored and will not dark much with age.

Both are harder varnishes than your run-of-the-mill polys.

Formby's is VERY highly thinned and will require many more coats than the Waterlox.

Jonathan Gennaro
09-22-2014, 5:19 PM
Formby's is NOT a vanish blend... It is varnish. So is Waterlox. Different types; both varnish. Waterlox is a phenolic resin / Tung oil varnish and bit harder and much more amber; it will continue to darken with age. Formby's is an alkyd resin / soya oil varnish and is light straw colored and will not dark much with age.

Both are harder varnishes than your run-of-the-mill polys.