PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here looking for advice

Jay Selway
09-12-2014, 3:01 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new here, and new to laser cutting and engraving, so please excuse my naivety. I've recently been introduced to laser cutting as a means to dramatically expand the possibilities for my artwork. As such, I'm looking to purchase a laser cutter for personal use and for a side business selling my art.

From my research, it seems the two brands that keep coming up as most reliable and with the best customer service are Trotec and Epilog. Last night, I used a cheaper chinese knock off at a local maker space, and while we did get it to work, it wasn't without major usability issues. The calibration was off, the UI not easy to use (and barely translated). I'd rather spend a bit more money and get something I know is going to work for my needs, and work long term.

I do rather large artwork, so I am interested in the Epilog Fusion 40 and also the Trotec Speedy 400. I especially like that the Trotec offers pass-through options, for endless size (at least in one dimension). It's also nice how it has slat cutting table (I think available with the 400), for working with irregularly shaped objects.

Since I'm new to this, I was hoping I could ask a few questions.

1. In general, the higher the wattage of the laser, the better, right? My sales rep at Epilog recommended a 60w laser versus the 40w that comes standard.
2. Is Trotec the only company that offers 'pass-through'?
3. With pass-through, do you need to manually reposition your work, or does the table automatically feed the substrate through the cutting surface?
4. I've heard Trotec customer service can be pretty bad (actually heard that on this forum) and that Epilog service is great. Is that true?