PDA

View Full Version : OT: Ruger Mini 14 or Mini 30

Von Bickley
09-08-2014, 12:40 PM
Just wondering if anyone has a Ruger Mini 14 or 30, and if you do, which one and how do you like it?

tim morris
09-08-2014, 5:03 PM
Von I have a mini 14 and like it. It's a fun plinking gun. I have never found any magazines other that factory that will feed worth a darn.

Charles McKinley
09-08-2014, 6:57 PM
I'm an instructor for Project Appleseed and would point you to an AR platform over the Ruger. The magazine price difference alone is significant. Mini-14s have had issues over the years reliability and accuracy issues over the years.

Palmeto State Armory is a very reputable company to look at.

What do you want to do with it?

Do you reload? There was an article about the use of steel case ammo in the Mini-30 in the American Rifleman recently and the problems they had with it. Using only brass cassed 7.62x39 will make the ammo cost much higher for the Mini-30.

If I can find it I will send you a bullet performance article that compares the two.

Tom M King
09-08-2014, 9:55 PM
I've known a few people that owned Mini 14s, and I've shot all of them. We have a range on our farm. Shooting them never made me want one. All of those people have now gone to AR's, except for one that keeps a stainless mini on his blue water sailboat.

Edward Dyas
09-09-2014, 7:45 AM
I bought several of them in the 1990's and none of them were worth having. Even equipped with a scope they were less accurate than the cheap Chinese SKS rifle. I sold them all.

Steve Rozmiarek
09-09-2014, 9:20 AM