PDA

View Full Version : Repairing broken BS

Al Launier
08-12-2014, 9:58 AM
Have any of you braized these blades? I have a few broken blades in good shape that I'm tempted to silver solder. I have some bronze braizing rods that were bought at Home Depot that are supposed to work on steel, and have bot a Propane & a Map torch. I've no experience with this, but am tempted. I can grind the mating surfaces & can make a fixture to align & hold the ends in place, but is it an exercise in futility? Any experience with this, good or bad?

Erik Loza
08-12-2014, 10:45 AM
Blades are actually welded at the joint. I don't think brazing would be anywhere near strong enough.

Personally, I don't really see the value in trying to "repair" blades. At least mild steel ones, considering what a new one costs and what my time is worth. Just my 2-cents.

Erik Loza
Minimax USA

Loren Woirhaye
08-12-2014, 11:38 AM
I solder blades regularly. I bought coil stock and make blades up as I need them. I'm using a 3 wheel saw and the 1/4" blades break on me sometimes. Considering the savings though I would do it anyway even if my saw wasn't prone to breaking blades.

1/4" Blades for my saw cost about $24 each if I buy them welded and they would still break. Soldering my own they cost me maybe $4 or $5.

I use a fixture to hold the blade aligned for soldering. I think I bought it from Lee Valley. I use a grinding stone in the drill press and a tapered wood block to grind the scarfs.

Al Launier
08-12-2014, 3:34 PM
Thanks Loren.
Could you tell me a bit more specifically what you use for solder & flux,or do you use the LV materials? I found the LV source http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=41049&cat=1,41036,41048 & plan to make my own fixture. I like your method of using the drill press & tapered block. That approach would appear to provide better control, more consistency & better mating of parts. Have you tried a braizing rod as described above and if so what results?

Loren Woirhaye