PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and shop tour (lots of pix)

Kurt Voss
07-05-2005, 7:48 PM
Hello SMC! I've been reading this site for about a year now and joined a couple of months ago and have been working on putting my shop together during that time. First of all, many thanks for the great website and all those who have taken the time to post here as it is a wealth of information and I'm sure I"ve been able to bypass several pitfalls and headaches by heeding the experience that has been shared here.

I work as a rehabilitation physician (Physiatrist) and spend my days in a hospital working with people who've had strokes, joint replacements, fractures, amputations and other terrible things (sure appreciate my health and set of "problems"). As for woodworking; I grew up around it and helped my Dad build a lot of stuff - mostly functioning as a clamp and outfeed device. :D I have recently decided to get into to it as a hobby and plan on building my kids' beds, cabinets for a project room, a built in hutch, kitchen cabinets, etc., etc. - hoping that my meager skills improve as I reach higher up the complexity ladder. But I am optimistic and believe that the brain being the trainable organ it is will acquire new skills whilst I create firewood and sawdust.

If your ever in Ft. Worth, feel free to look me up.

Now for the pictures:

Richard Wolf
07-05-2005, 7:53 PM
Very impressive shop space. Do you own stock in Grizzly? Can you explain the first picture, is that part of the house? How much of the space is shop? Welcome to the chreek.

Richard

Chris Padilla
07-05-2005, 7:54 PM
Drool.... Boy, I think I'd give up a lot to get space to simply plant my machines in one spot forever and ever.

Nice job on the DC system. I'm still waffling between plastic and metal, plastic and metal for the ductwork...I just don't know....

Don Baer
07-05-2005, 7:54 PM
WOW now thats a shop. Color me green with envy. I can only dream of a shop like yours, How many square feet is it.

:D