PDA

View Full Version : Recommendation for a "clear" woodworking adhesive

Al Launier
08-03-2014, 7:53 AM
I'm making several bandsaw boxes as Santa Sleighs. I will be painting the outsides red & the inside green with a gold(?) edge trimming along the top edges.

I have each side of the sleigh "blind doweled" to the inner body so that I can sand everything together as an assembly, yet be able to remove the sides as necessary & then reassemble them to the body using the dowels to keep everything aligned the same way each time. I plan on painting the sides & body as individual pieces as I am not good at masking, which I would have to do if I were to paint everything while assembled & glued. Yet I am concerned that when I do glue, reassemble & clamp things up after painting the glue squeeze-out along the edges will be difficult to thoroughly clean up so it doesn't show. So, I was wondering if there is a clear woodworking glue, comparable to Titebond II, that is available on the market. I think this may be my best chance for a decent looking paint job without the uncleaned glue showing.

Another thought that just occurred to me is that if using a damp cloth to immediately remove the glue squeeze-out, the residual damp glue wouldn't saturate the pieces as when raw wood, as the pieces are painted. Would you agree?

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Moses Yoder
08-03-2014, 8:07 AM
We use damp rags all the time to wipe glue, very effective. I think that would be your best bet.

Jack Lemley
08-03-2014, 9:17 AM
Nexabond is clear. It is a new generation of CA glue. I use it often. Woodcraft, Amazon, Rockler and others sell it. They have a 1 to 3 minute set and a 3 to 5 minute set. No joint swelling as there is no water involved. Glue cleanup with a carbide scraper is easy after set.

Jack

Rich Engelhardt
08-03-2014, 9:52 AM