PDA

View Full Version : How it's made

Tai Fu
08-01-2014, 12:36 AM
Does anyone here watch that show? If you do has anyone noticed any obviously dangerous things happening?

I saw one about barber chairs, a worker feeds a piece of steel plate into a roller to bend it into a circle, and that guy's hand looks like it was seconds from being drawn in and crushed, since the roller seems a bit fast.

Bruce Page
08-01-2014, 1:13 AM
It's one of my favorite shows. Coming from a research laboratory environment a lot of what they do makes me cringe a little, but it is real world production. I am often amazed at how much work goes into making things that we take for granted.

Tai Fu
08-01-2014, 1:31 AM
Or how much technology it takes to produce seemingly cheap items...

Brian W Smith
08-01-2014, 7:32 AM
Love watching the show from a sort of twisted viewpoint.I am a student of shop design(have built a bunch,professionally) and have to get past certain embarrassments........how safety works with shop profile and it's general flow.Taking a pce of plywood and using it as a scatter shield between work stations not only increases safety,if done correctly it serves the equipment as part of their overall stations....and costs about a 1/2 sheet?Putting freakin tape on the floor to keep people the heck out of my work station?Priceless.

John McClanahan
08-01-2014, 7:59 AM
I think a lot of what you see is prototype, or one off production so you can see the steps clearly. It also allows the manufacturer to not show the real manufacturing, and company secrets.

John

Jim Matthews
08-01-2014, 8:09 AM
My wife derides the show as "Romper Room for grown men".
(Those of you not old enough to get the reference likely have your phones out, already.)

The first years were really interesting, with advance processes on display.
As they go along, the material gets a little less involved...

"How it's made - Soap."
"How it's made - Mulch."
"How it's made - Dirt."

Bill Huber
08-01-2014, 9:58 AM