PDA

View Full Version : Greene & Greene inspired tall dresser finally complete.

Dennis Hawkins
07-29-2014, 9:24 PM
As a hobbyist it always feels good to be at the end of the road with a project. I have been picking away at this dresser for over a year.
Butternut with walnut pulls and breadboard ends. Ash drawer sides and back. Machined dovetails using the Leigh jig. Waterlox finish. Blum undermount slides. All M&T construction with frame and panel sides and back. Brass pinned at the M&T joints.
This is my first attempt at a project of this size.
I'm happy overall with the outcome. 293952293953293954293955293956

Von Bickley
07-29-2014, 9:34 PM
Dennis,
Looks like your hard work paid off. That is a great looking piece of fine furniture.

glenn bradley
07-29-2014, 10:01 PM
A labor of love and a treasure to be passed down. She's a beauty Dennis. I don't get much butternut out here on the left coast but I do like black walnut and would love to try a piece in it's white cousin. Great job on the pulls. I have the most fun when designing my pulls toward the end of a build . . . maybe that's too much information ;-)

Dennis Hawkins
07-29-2014, 10:12 PM
Glenn
This is the second project using butternut. Here is a quick pic of the first that inspired this dresser: 293957

I really like the way it works. A bit different than black walnut for sure.
Dennis

glenn bradley
07-29-2014, 10:21 PM
Sweet table Dennis, very nice. I have some black walnut that is extremely pale but, lacks figure. Your butternut has the strong walnut figure with a very warm color. Is that a bit of cloud-lift detail on the ends of the through tenons on the base? Would you mind sharing your finishing schedule?

Joe A Faulkner
07-29-2014, 10:30 PM