PDA

View Full Version : tips on how to achieve a V-cut type of engraving for letters.

Allan Rabanales
07-22-2014, 9:41 PM
I finally purchased my laser, thanks to a lot of help from the creek.
I am still a total noob but I am learning.

I am trying to figure out how to have my font print in a V cut style. I want the letters to have a groove style instead of being straight down.

I am open to any ideas and sorry for this elementary question.

David Somers
07-22-2014, 10:32 PM
Allan,

Epilog has this tutorial on their site that helps simulate a v cut. See if this is what you are looking for.

http://support.epiloglaser.com/article/8205/42822/creating-3d-effect-with-the-laser-on-acrylic-and-glass

Dave

Allan Rabanales
07-23-2014, 3:35 AM
Thanks Dave.
This effect is what I am looking for. Is there an easier way to do several layers at the same time though? For example, if I have a paragraph to engrave it would take me forever to do each letter individually.

Ernest Martin
07-23-2014, 9:48 AM
Does your engraver have the stamp printing option. On our one Epilog we can use the stamp driver to create somewhat of a bevel edge. I don't know if that would work at all for you

Mike Null
07-23-2014, 11:27 AM
There is a relatively simple way to do it in Corel. Take the letter, outline it and remove the fill. Use the contour tool then if needed break apart the contour group and select the colors as needed.

This doesn't solve the problem of doing multiple letters though.

David Somers
07-23-2014, 11:59 AM
Unfortunately I am not aware of a way to do it more quickly off the top of my head. You really end up treating each letter or number as an individual graphic using either the Epilog method or Mike's suggestion above.