PDA

View Full Version : Can I safely engrave balsa wood in my home?

James Higgon
07-10-2014, 12:07 PM
I have my laser set up in my house. I'm after some 5-6mm wood that cuts easily and won't be harmful to my health using my hepa filter. Have been looking at balsa. Would this be suitable? Also looked at alder wood. Thanks

Gary Hair
07-10-2014, 12:26 PM
Unless you have a charcoal filter you are not really safe cutting anything with just a hepa filter.

James Higgon
07-10-2014, 12:57 PM
Anything? As in wood or absolutely anything? I cut gravograph plastic, can I not even do that? Can I get a charcoal filter for my hepa unit?

Scott Shepherd
07-10-2014, 12:58 PM
Not if you're venting it back inside the house. That would be crazy.

James Higgon
07-10-2014, 1:08 PM
No one even mentioned this to me when I bought it. I thought this filter was all I needed... Very worried now as I've been doing this for two years in my home.

Can I get a pipe that will go from my filter that I can hang out the window?

Doug Griffith
07-10-2014, 1:42 PM
If you've been using only a hepa filter inside your home, I'm guessing you don't use a blower as it would be quite loud. I'd get yourself a decent blower, build a sound deadening box for it, and put it outside the house. Run the exhaust side of the blower through a pipe that extends upwards above the roof line (if you can). Use as few bends as possible. After you do this, you won't really need your hepa filter anymore.

James Higgon
07-10-2014, 1:48 PM
Excuse my ignorance but what is a blower

I have the HEPA AD350

Scott Shepherd
07-10-2014, 2:07 PM
What laser do you have? Can you take a couple of photos of the setup with the filter and post them here?

Burning most anything, certainly plastics, is not something you'd want to be cycling into your home under any circumstances. I hope you don't have children in the home.

It either needs to go outside or you need the proper setup to scrub it and make it safe of dump back inside.