PDA

View Full Version : Router Table Top Material?

Keith Foster
07-01-2005, 11:58 AM
As you may know if you've visited or posted on Jerry's "Dovetail" thread (which I shamelessly hijacked - sorry Jerry) - I am now the proud owner of an Incra 17" LS. Since I am just getting started in woodworking I have very little in the way of "fine" woodworking devices for my shop. For the most part my woodworking has been of the brute force type - ie construction. Matter of fact, we just finished building a house on some acreage I own. So for your basic 2x4 stud length rafter joist drywall stuff I'm set.

Now I'd like to begin the journey into furniture building, and for that I'll need more precision style equipment - hence the Incra LS. But I tend to be a bit anal when it comes to "colors" in the shop area (3 car garage - two bays open for my use). And as "dumb" as it may seem - I don't like the white tops I see on so many router work stations. So, if cost was less of a consideration than color - is there an alternative? Has anyone built the top for their router work station out Formica? <O:p</O:p

Joe Mayo
07-01-2005, 12:15 PM
If your looking for precision routing then check out http://www.patwarner.com/ Great stuff.

Yes, you can use Formica for a router top. I laminated 2 pieces of MDF (30" x 32") and a sheet of white Formica for my router table. Works great and was fairly inexpensive. I used white because I can write on it and it was what I had laying around.

Michael Gabbay
07-01-2005, 12:30 PM
I also chose white so that I could see the contrast of the piece being routed as well as mark fence settings and bit heights. What ever you do make sure you apply the laminate to both top and bottom to keep the top from warping.

Jon Toebbe
07-01-2005, 12:30 PM