PDA

View Full Version : Pickup Bed liner/spray/mats

Dan Gill
07-01-2005, 7:27 AM
I just bought a new Dodge 1500 Quad Cab, and I'm weighing my bed liner options. Those of you with pickups, what are the advantages/disadvantages of a liner, a spray coating, and bed mats? I intend to put a camper cap on the truck.

And just so you know I'm a true woodworker, I bought the truck yesterday and already used it to pick up a piece of 3/4 oak ply . . .

Dan Gill

Kevin Herber
07-01-2005, 8:02 AM
Dan - I have a '97 Ford Ranger that I bought new. I immediately had Rhino Liner spray it. Now, almost 8 years later, the liner is great. The truck is kept outdoors in Central Texas. The summer sun and heat is brutal.

The color has oxidized a bit but I understand the current materials apparently do not have that problem.

Everthing I have heard, and it makes perfect sense, is that the plastic drop in liners will mess up your bed. They get fine sand underneath and then proceed to sand the paint off your bed as the liner vibrates while the vehicle is in motion. Also, if you poke a hole in one of the plastic drop-ins (shovel, pipes, whatever) you are screwed. The spray-ins can be repaired. Rhino has a lifetime guarantee too.

Were I to buy another truck I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Hint - I paid something like $300. I got a substantial coupon in the back of my phone book. I don't see one in my area's Yellow Pages now, but you might have one in yours.

Good Luck -- Kevin

Cecil Arnold
07-01-2005, 8:58 AM
I also have the spray-in and think it is the only way to go. Several friends have other liner systems, and/or mats, and none seem to hold up as well. I got a deal on mine, but still with tax it was just under $300.

Steve Jenkins
07-01-2005, 9:01 AM
I put a plastic drop in liner in a pick-up once and never again. It was like ice. you had to tie down anyting you put in the back. Maybe they are made differently now but a friends sprayed-in was much better.

JayStPeter