PDA

View Full Version : Sliding shaper

Tyler Trowbridge
06-19-2014, 7:17 PM
I know there has been quite a bit of information lately on here about shapers but I still have questions.
Currently as a professional I have been building mostly entry doors and windows as well as some cabinet doors. I currently have been using a shop made coping sled on my scmi-t110. I'd like to upgrade my machine to something much more repeatable with a sliding table. I'm having a hard time deciding whether I want a machine with a intable slider or a side mounted tennoning table. I have only used the side mount style before and would like to get a view of the pluses and minuses of each style. How does the pressure of a power feeder effect the intable slider while it is in the locked position? I know martin makes a side mount tennoning table but what other companies do? I have been looking at the scmi t130 class as well.
Thanks for your responses.

David Kumm
06-19-2014, 7:27 PM
SCMI will make both types. I've seen SAC both ways as well as EMA, Fortis, Unitronix,etc. I've not used a tenoning side table so others will need to chime in. I have both sliders and fixed and my take is if you are keeping two shapers, a fixed and slider are a good combo. Typically the fixed would be my bigger shaper but no real reason for that. If I had the room but only one shaper, the side tenoning table might be more handy. In my world it is more about not having to change the fence as I hate resetting when working. Absent a T27 programmable type shaper, I like separates for cope and stick. I have a T130 NPS cast iron slider and while i like it's ability to handle big cutters, an Aluminum T55 or Felder type slider is a little easier to set up and take down. Otherwise the better and easier the fence is to adjust, the better you will like the shaper. Dave

Peter Quinn
06-19-2014, 9:18 PM