PDA

View Full Version : slab coffee table, rotten wood?

selman dinler
06-13-2014, 6:33 AM
Hi everyone, this is my first post here, new to forum and i'm new to woodworking. I'm from Turkey and woodworking sites like yours make me thankful that i learned English at school:) This is a great source for me.

Now i have a problem. I bought a slab from a local mill and it was raining that day, the slab was stored outside and all wet. i paid something like 45 dollars to a, i think a fir slab. it was cheap, more decent looking parts, more central slabs were 118 dollar. the seller probably knew this was rotten.

after a week i saw the slab is mostly dry but some parts were still wet, and unfortunately, soft. 291215

i stabbed the wood in soft places with a screw driver, imagining the seller :)

then calmed down and cut the slab in three291216 291217291218

Dark areas are mostly soft. probably rotten? What should i do? Is this wood still salvagable or should i make it fire wood? i read a lot of threads about epoxy filling but i'm confused. Should i carve out those soft parts, wait it to dry completely, then fill with epoxy? this wood looks like a sponge to me, i might have to dip it in epoxy. by the way sizes are like: 70 cm(27,5 inch) and 90 cm (35,5 inch) and 8 cm (3 inch) thick.

Any suggestions are appreciated. Greetings from Turkey.

Mike Heidrick
06-13-2014, 8:42 AM
A simpe rain storm does not do that to dry wood. It was rotten long before you ordered it.

Mike Wilkins
06-13-2014, 9:25 AM
I don't remember the name of the product, but there is a product used on bar tops that looks like a thick polyurethane. It can be used to fill in the soft areas of the boards and all over the board as well.

Steve Menendez
06-13-2014, 9:59 AM
There are some penetrating epoxies that can be used to save the piece if you wish.

http://www.westmarine.com/boatlife--git-rot-penetrating-epoxy--P004_120_001_009