PDA

View Full Version : How much software do I really need?

Rich Ebner
06-10-2014, 4:24 PM
I am just getting into the etching game and have alreadypurchased a Chinese 50w laser, though through reading threads it may be closerto a 40w. The table is pretty much perfect for what I want to do and though therotary axis is a challenge, I think I can eventually work it out. I’m mostlyetching glassware. I’m using a olderCompact laptop with XP and don’t have Microsoft Office installed. The laser workssoftware (3.5 I think) leaves a lot to be desired, but that just may be the learningcurve I have to deal with. So far everythingis working ok, though I’m having problems importing and editing images.
The question is since I’m upgrading to a new laptop withOffice installed and was going to get Corel as the main artwork software. Whatlevel software do I need or can I get by with. Since I’m just getting started Ireally don’t want to spend the $700.00 for the complete packages if I reallydon’t need it. I don’t have any experiencewith it at all and I’m only considering it because this forum and most otherlaser manufacture comments and suggestions.
Are there smaller / less costly packages that I can buy thatare useable and don’t 700 bucks? I’m not trying to be cheap I just don’t wantto get another huge expense if it’s not necessary

David Somers
06-10-2014, 6:41 PM
Rich, I will let someone else answer this. Am zooming right now. But one thought for you. Folks will be better able to answer you if you go into your profile, and in your signature add in the equipment you have. Brand and model and power level is helpful. Plus any other gear in your shop you want to share with folks or think would be useful.

There are other packages you can use by the way. Some very good ones that are free. Corel has the advantage of have a ton of support on the forum. But the other packages are excellent. Will let others discuss this with you.